Primary Curriculum
We follow the new Primary School Curriculum drawn up by the Dept. of Education in 1999.
The curriculum incorporates the child centred principles of its predecessor, Curaclam na Bunscoile (1971). It identifies three primary aims of primary education:To enable the child to live a full life as a child and to realise his or her potential as a unique individual
To enable the child to develop as a social being through living and co-operating with others and so contribute to the good of society
To prepare the child for further education and lifelong learning.
The curriculum is learner-centred. It emphasises the importance of literacy, numeracy, and language, while at the same time responding to changing needs in science and technology, social personal and health education, and citizenship.

The curriculum is presented in seven areas, some of which are further subdivided into subjects. These are:

  1. Language: Gaeilge and English
  2. Mathematics
  3. Social, environmental and scientific education (SESE): history, geography and science
  4. Arts education: visual arts, music and drama
  5. Physical education
  6. Social, personal and health education (SPHE)
  7. Religious or ethical education is the responsibility of the different school patron bodies.


New Primary Language Curriculum for English and Irish – Junior Infants to Second Class

The new curriculum for English and Irish is for all children from Junior Infants to Second Class in all schools (English medium schools, Gaeltacht schools, Irish medium schools and Special schools).

More information can be found online at: